A note about expectations

Keep your expectations low and you’ll never be disappointed.

I don’t remember the first time I ever heard that little saying, but I’ve always thought it was funny and clever. It is human nature to want things to be grander, bigger, better … and it is a fact that too often those “wants” lead one to ignore or look down upon the simple and honest joys that life usually delivers.

Yesterday and today my first novel Carpathia was published as an eBook on Amazon.com (Kindle format) and Smashwords (Nook, iPad, and .pdf). The cost is $1.99 whichever site you buy it from; a cost carefully chosen to be about half the price of a latte or gallon of gas, so you won’t feel too pinched.

Having gotten to this point, it is fair to ask about my expectations for Carpathia. Here as some quick thoughts on the subject:

  • The subject matter — steampunk, vampires, werewolves, Romania in the 1880s — certainly isn’t of interest to everyone, so some of you will not want to read it. That’s fine; I wrote it for me, as a challenge to actually write a novel, so anyone else who wants to read it is gravy.
  • As a follow on to above, getting rich or winning writing prizes wasn’t part of the plan, so no problem there. John Grisham, Stephen King and Ernest Hemmingway are safely out of my league.
  • If you do read Carpathia, hearing what you honestly thought of it would be great. Liked it, hated it, thought it was only so-so, please let me know.
  • I hope my friends don’t feel compelled to write a positive review on Amazon.com as a sign of support. I’ve seen a few cases of “stuffing the ballot box” reviews and would rather not have those. If you want to review it, please be honest.

So, that’s it. I wrote a novel and feel some satisfaction in having done it. I published it myself, and enjoyed the process of learning how to do that. If you buy Carpathia, I hope you enjoy it and will tell your friends.

If you don’t buy it, or didn’t like the story, we’ll still be friends, and maybe I’ll buy you the rest of the latte to make up for it.

 

Leave a Reply

