My review of “Losing Connor” by Amanda Alberson

An emotionally-charged rollercoaster, heartbreaking at times, uplifting and funny at others, Losing Connor is the fiction debut of Amanda Alberson (@albersona). I highly recommend this novella to anyone looking for a fast-paced but intense examination of love, heartbreak and ultimate triumph.

First and foremost, this is not a book I would normally pick for myself to read. But, having become acquainted with Ms. Alberson through Twitter, I raised my hand when she asked for someone to give the 99.5 percent-finished story a beta read.

I’m glad I did, because Losing Connor is compelling. Cassie Coven is a well-drawn, complex lead character whose life has never really recovered from the decision at seventeen to put her baby boy up for adoption. That ended Cassie’s relationship with Declan, the father who she still loves.

Events bring Declan and Connor, their son, back together with Cassie, and the joy of their early relationship is revealed to be in sharp contrast to a current situation rife with tension and distrust. The story unfolds in a series of flashbacks intercut with current events, a format which works very well and draws the reader deeply into the plot.

As always, I don’t do spoilers, but allow me to say I found the conclusion of this story to be surprising and satisfying, and I congratulated Ms. Alberson for making some bold choices. I’ve gone over the now-finished story and the changes made to the beta I read are minor and do nothing but improve an already strong work.

One of the most pleasurable things to come out of my relatively recent foray into fiction writing has been meeting and interacting with new people (my use of ‘meeting’ mostly means through Social Media, especially Twitter, as I’m a self-described hermit) such as Ms. Alberson.

Thanks to those virtual ‘meetings,’ I’ve had the pleasure of reading some wonderful Indie fiction, books that I frankly would never have known about or picked up otherwise. Losing Connor is one of those gems.

Interested in learning more about Amanda Alberson? Head her blog, Raynee Daze Writing.

Leave a Reply

