My Review of “Miami, P.I.” by Zane Owen Yates

Miami PI Red Sunrise_X50_500A fast-paced crime actioner with a quirky protagonist, Miami P.I. (Roy Findley Miami Detective Series #1) by Zane Owen Yates (@ZaneOwenYates) is a great read for the beach, or anytime, really, that you’re looking to escape for a few hours of fun and excitement.

Sometimes you want to get dressed up, hit a nice restaurant for a tasty meal before catching the latest Indie movie generating award-season buzz. And sometimes you just want pizza and a beer on the couch while watching a re-run of Die Hard. Both are a good time, it just depends on what you’re in the mood for.

Yates’ debut novel is definitely of the pizza-and-beer variety, and that’s not at all a bad thing.

Roy Findlay is a fiftyish ex-cop with a full head of jet-black Elvis hair, a love of classic muscle cars and a penchant for wearing loud Hawaii shirts, usually rumpled. Roy ekes out a tenuous existence as a private investigator and by taking part-time security jobs on Australia’s Gold Coast, and he’s got an inside “guy” at the local police department who just happens to be the daughter of his deceased ex-partner.

By the way, did you know there is a Miami in Australia? Me, neither. You learn something new every day by reading, I tell you.

Anyway, the story opens with Roy getting a hairy fist to the nose, courtesy of a goon sent to warn him off his latest job, building a case against a crooked property developer. The plot moves quickly forward from there — in no time Roy picks up another case, snooping on a husband who may be cheating — with no frills and few pauses. Its pizza and beer, John McClane at Nakatomi Plaza: the good guys are good, the bad guys are bad, there are fist fights, shootouts and car chases.

Personally, I like pizza and beer, and I enjoyed spending a few hours with Roy. Miami, P.I. is the first of a new series and I’m sure I’ll be in the mood for more pizza, er, Roy in the future.

A final note: some comments in other reviews I’ve seen for this novel address formatting issues which were mostly corrected in the revised copy I read.

For more about Mr. Yates and his writing, please visit his website.

4-Stars

2 responses to “My Review of “Miami, P.I.” by Zane Owen Yates

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering
    problems with your site. It appears as if some of the
    written text on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please
    comment and let me know if this is happening to them as
    well? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve
    had this happen previously. Kudos

Leave a Reply

