My Review of “The Redeemer” by Jo Nesbo

12356703The sixth novel in author Jo Nesbo’s Inspector Harry Hole series, The Redeemer was only recently released in the United States. Followed a couple months later by the first Harry book, The Bat (read my review), leaving just The Cockroaches, the second book, as the only entry in the series not available in the US.

The story begins with the rape of a fourteen-year-old girl at a Salvation Army summer camp in Norway and then fast forwards a dozen years to a bone-chillingly freezing winter in the capital city of Oslo. A professional hit man will soon appear on the scene; his target is one of the people from that summer camp. What happens next and why the hit has been ordered … well, you’re going to have to read the book to find out but trust me: it’s a twisty, bumpy but ultimately highly enjoyable ride.

I’ve enjoyed this series from the first book I read, The Redbreast (Harry Hole No.3), and The Redeemer has everything I love in a Harry book: a complex, twisty mystery; thrills; the wonderful setting of Oslo; and an all-too-humanly flawed main character. Having read the books out of sequence, I was actually pleased to have the chance to spend time with some characters who had since passed away, and reveled in meeting new characters who are already in place in later books.

Note: I don’t normally spend a lot of time on reviews of traditionally published works, preferring to concentrate my efforts on the Independent Author ranks I am proud to be a part of.

5-Star

Leave a Reply

