How goes the novel? Slowly, very slowly

I cracked 41,500 words today, but the going has been slow of late. There are a lot of reasons why, but most fall into the category or “real life” getting in the way.

On top of that, I’m rapidly approaching Part III of the novel, which is where my outline gets fuzzy Don’t get me wrong — I know how the story ends. But getting from the end of Part II to that point, well, that’s not quite as clear.

The good news is the same thing happened to me at the end of Part I. I had an idea of what would happen in Part II, and as I dug into it and started thinking that idea filled out and expanded to become the stuff I’ve actually written.

So I’m not overly worried. But I’m also not making as much progress as I wanted.

And on top of that, I still have NO idea for a title. Not even a “ha-ha this isn’t what I’ll end up calling it but at least it’s something” title. The silly thing is still in a folder named NSGAN (Not So Great American Novel) on my desktop.

Oh, well. First things first, I suppose. Write the silly thing and then worry about what to call it. 🙂

Leave a comment