My Review of “Gundog” by Gary Whitta

Bottom Line Up Top

Amazon link: Gundog
Author: Gary Whitta (@garywhitta)
Website: YouTube channel

Thumbnail sketch:
A by-the-numbers sci-fi story set in a dystopian United States after Earth is conquered by alien machines.

3 Stars


My take on Gundog

To echo another reviewer of Gary Whitta’s forthcoming sci-fi novel Gundog, I wanted to like it more than I did. The premise – a young woman finds a hidden weapon and starts a rebellion after Earth is conquered by aliens – is intriguing, and I remember fondly the author’s stint as editor of PC Gamer magazine. But the story just never grabbed me and pulled me in.

This review is based on an advance copy provided by the publisher through NetGalley for that purpose. The book will be available on August 1, 2023.

After the alien machine race known as the Mek conquered the planet, they killed off (‘recycled’) older humans and imprisoned the rest in work camps producing the raw materials the invaders need. Dakota, 23, and her older brother Sam toil in one such camp in the former United States. They are the children of Lieutenant Colonel Rosie Bregman, who was killed along with her entire unit when their armored mechs called Gundogs were destroyed at humanity’s last stand against the Mek.

Dakota’s chief concern is keeping Sam alive until a mysterious stranger arrives in a transport of new prisoners, setting her on a course that could be humanity’s salvation. Much of her journey is similar enough to any number of sci-fi movies, TV shows and books that I often felt a bit of déjà vu. The conclusion is unsurprising and while not a cliffhanger it leaves ample room for follow-on books should the author choose.

To be clear, Gundog isn’t a bad story, or poorly-written. It may just be what you’re looking for. I’m glad to have had the chance to read it, and I’ll certainly give Mr. Whitta’s work another look in the future.

Leave a comment